

His Excellency Hashim Thaçi President of Kosovo

His Excellency Ramush Haradinaj Prime Minister of Kosovo

At the beginning of April we were alerted of the case of six Turkish citizens who had been detained in Kosovo and were deported to Turkey due to their alleged links to the Gülen movement. Their residence permits have been cancelled without any legal procedure and they have been deported without any trial or any contact with their lawyers in violation of the principle of rule of law. We strongly criticise these grave events.

We were again alerted by Turkish President Erdogan's announcement that more people will be extradited from Kosovo to Turkey. As Kosovo is part of the accession process it should align with European standards. The rule of law is a fundamental principle of the European Union. We are concerned that it has been completely forgotten that countries are morally and legally bound to respect international conventions and protocols, which were laid down to protect basic human dignity and have been upheld over the centuries by our civilization. We should strive for an inclusive society rather than one that extradites people on the basis of alleged political affiliations.

As Members of the European Parliament we are urging you to fully respect all judicial procedures in line with European principles and standards. All actions taken by local Kosovar authorities must be in full respect of the rule of law and promotion of universal respect for and observance of human rights and fundamental freedoms. Arbitrary procedures concerning arrest, detention or extradition are in violation of these principles.

We trust in Kosovo's authorities to keep up a strong stance on human rights and the rule of law and that it will withstand the pressure Turkey is systematically exerting.

Sincerely yours,

Mr Igor Šoltes MEP

Ms Rebecca Harms MEP



Ms Lucy Anderson MEP

Mr Petras Austrevicius MEP

Mr Fabio Massimo Castaldo MEP

Ms Nessa Childers MEP

Mr Kostas Chrysogonos MEP

Ms Tanja Fajon MEP

Mr Luke Ming Flanagan MEP

Mr Takis Hadjigeorgiou, MEP

Mr Wajid Khan MEP

Ms Merja Kyllönen MEP

Ms Patricia Lalonde MEP

Ms Monica Macovei MEP

Mr Lukas Mandl MEP

Ms Martina Michels MEP

Mr Tonino Picula MEP

Mr Georgi Pirinski MEP

Ms Sofia Sakorafa MEP

Ms Judith Sargentini MEP

Mr Jordi Solé MEP

Ms Barbara Spinelli MEP

Ms Ruža Tomašić MEP

Ms Helga Trüpel MEP

Mr Ivo Vajgl MEP

Ms Bodil Valero MEP

Ms Marie-Christine Vergiat MEP

Ms Julie Ward MEP



Mr Thomas Waitz MEP