

Turkey

Imprisoned journalists and examples of legislative restrictions on freedom of expression and media freedom

Can Dündar	Cumhuriyet	since 26 November 2015
Erdem Gül	Cumhuriyet	since 26 November 2015
Cevheri Güven	Nokta	since 2 November 2015
Murat Çapan	Nokta	since 2 November 2015
Gültekin Avci	Bugün	since 18 September 2015
Mohammed Ismael Rasool	VICE News	since 27 August 2015
Tahsin Sağaltici	Yürüyüş political magazine	detained on June 3, 2015
Ufuk Erhan	Gelecek newspaper	detained May 26, 2015
Mehmet Baransu	Taraf	since 2 March 2015
Özgür Amed	Özgür Gündem, Özgür Politika	since 21 February 2015
Hidayet Karaca	Samanyolu Editing Group	arrested on December 19, 2014
Sami Tunca	Yeni Evrede Mücadele Birligi	convicted; Arrested on September 19, 2013



Hevi Jine women magazine	convicted on January 17, 2013
Azadiya Welat Newspaper	convicted on October 16, 2012
Özgür Gündem daily	convicted on October 18, 2012
Özgür Halk Newspaper	convicted on May 26, 2011
Azadiya Welat daily	arrested on February 16, 2011
DİHA	detained on September 5, 2010
Kurdish Azadiya Welat newspaper	convicted; Arrested on May 27, 2010
Kurdish Azadiya Welat newspaper	convicted; Arrested on May 27, 2010
Mersin Mezitli FM (radio) and Ulus Newspaper	arrested on May 17, 2010
Azadiye Welat daily	convicted; Arrested on February 13, 2010
Eylül Hapishane Kültür Sanat dergisi	convicted; Arrested on February 5, 2010
Radyo Dünya	convicted; Arrested on December 10, 2009
Azadiya Welat	convicted; Detained on April 20, 2009
	Azadiya Welat Newspaper Özgür Gündem daily Özgür Halk Newspaper Azadiya Welat daily DİHA Kurdish Azadiya Welat newspaper Kurdish Azadiya Welat newspaper Mersin Mezitli FM (radio) and Ulus Newspaper Azadiye Welat daily Eylül Hapishane Kültür Sanat dergisi Radyo Dünya



Mustafa Gök	Ekmek and Adalet	convicted; Arrested in February 2004
Hatice Duman	Atılım newspaper	convicted; Arrested on April 17, 2003
Erol Zavar	Odak Review	convicted on June 27, 2001
Ekrem Dumali	Zaman	
Bulent Kenes	Zaman	
Hasan Cemal	formerly Milliyet	
Cengiz Candar	Radikal	
Ahmed Altan	formerly Taraf	
Ertugrul Ozkok	formerly Hürriyet	

With data from Reporter without Borders - PRESS FREEDOM BAROMETER 2015; Office of the OSCE Representative on Freedom of the Media